Geographical location and brief history

      Duncannon (Dún Canann Dún Conáin), meaning the Fort of Conán, possibly Conán mac Morna of the Fianna, is a village in southwest County Wexford, Republic of Ireland. Bordered to the west by Waterford harbour and sitting on a rocky promontory jutting into the channel is the strategically prominent Duncannon Fort which dominates the village. Primarily a fishing village, Duncannon also relies heavily on tourism and is situated on the clearly signposted and very scenic Ring of Hook drive. Duncannon boasts a mile-plus long, blue flag recipient golden beach and is a very popular spot with locals and tourists alike.

Duncannon Fort, which was built in 1588 incorporates a Maritime Museum, Arts Centre, Internet Café and Craft Shop and is open daily to visitors from June to September. Guided tours are available. Cinema buffs might be interested to know that Duncannon and Fort was the recent location for the opening scenes of the remake of 'The Count of Monte Cristo', starring Jim Caviezel and Richard Harris.